2010 Sijan Award Recipients

Air Force officials on Monday announced the winners of the 2010 Lance P. Sijan Leadership Award. They are: Lt. Col. Tony Millican, assigned to Nellis AFB, Nev., senior officer category; 1st Lt. Kathryn Miles, Luke AFB, Ariz., junior officer category; SMSgt. Brett Rogers, Kirtland AFB, N.M., senior enlisted category; and SSgt. Michael Pereira, Eglin AFB, Fla., junior enlisted category. These four airmen will receive the award at a later date. The Sijan Award, named after the first Air Force Academy graduate to receive the Medal of Honor, is bestowed annually to recognize airmen who demonstrate outstanding leadership abilities while assigned to an organization at the wing level and below. (Here’s the 2009 Sijan Award winners list) (For more on Sijan, see The Courage of Lance Sijan from Air Force Magazine’s archives)