Air Commandos Inducted Into Hall of Honor

US Special Operations Command added two former air commandos to its Commando Hall of Honor during a ceremony at MacDill AFB, Fla., announced Air Force Special Operations Command. Army Gen. Joseph Votel, SOCOM commander, honored retired Maj. Gen. James Hobson and retired Col. James Kyle during the April 6 event. “These men embody the skills, value, spirit, and courage of the special operations warrior,” said Votel. “Today is about honoring these men and their sacrifice … and to honor their families who stood by their side,” he added. Hobson, whose Air Force career spanned 32 years, led AFSOC from 1994 to 1997. Among his accomplishments, he won the 1984 Mackay Trophy for his role as aircraft commander of the lead MC-130E in a 1983 rescue mission during the US-led invasion of Grenada. Kyle, a former director of operations for US Pacific Command, spent his 30 years in uniform training, educating, and leading commandos, according to AFSOC’s release. Also inducted to the hall were two retired marines, four retired soldiers, and one former soldier.