Airmen Killed in C-130 Crash Identified

The Defense Department identified the six airmen killed when their C-130 crashed just after taking off from Jalalabad Airport, Afghanistan, on Oct. 2. They are: Capt. Jonathan J. Golden, 33, of Camarillo, Calif.; Capt. Jordan B. Pierson, 28, of Abilene, Texas; SSgt. Ryan D. Hammond, 26, of Moundsville, W.V.; SrA. Quinn L. Johnson-Harris, 21, of Milwaukee, Wisc.; SrA. Nathan C. Sartain, 29, of Pensacola, Fla.; and A1C Kcey E. Ruiz, 21, of McDonough, Ga. Golden, Pierson, Hammond, and Johnson-Harris all were assigned to the 39th Airlift Squadron at Dyess AFB, Texas, while Sartain and Ruiz were assigned to the 66th Security Forces Squadron at Hanscom AFB, Mass. During a fallen comrade ceremony in Afghanistan, Lt. Col. Mitchell Spillers, commander of the 774th Expeditionary Airlift Squadron, called the lost crew “one of my best,” saying “they had a positive impact on everyone around them.” Though he offered his condolences, he also urged airmen to honor the fallen by remaining focused on the mission. “We’ve taken a blow, but I’m proud of the way we’ve come together and supported each other. That must continue,” Spillers said. “We’re a tactical airlift unit that provides a lifeline to our forces [that no one] else can. Our mission will continue and we must carry on. Jordan, JJ, Ryan, and JH all loved what we do, and would expect nothing less.”