Lauding Aviators and Innovators

The National Aviation Hall of Fame in Dayton Ohio, formally inducted its 2011 class of enshrinees, honoring the outstanding aeronautical achievements of four pioneers during a ceremony at Dayton’s convention center. Joining the 207 members inducted over the past 50 years were: the late Iven Kincheloe, a record-setting jet-age test pilot; retired Col. Charles McGee, a Tuskegee Airman and fighter pilot in three wars; S. Harry Robertson, aviation safety pioneer; and the late Gen. Thomas White, former USAF Chief of Staff and Cold War architect of integrating space technology into modern air defense. This year’s class is “typical in that their contributions cover decades, span the globe, and significantly benefit us to this day, earning them the highest honor in aviation,” said Ron Kaplan, the hall’s enshrinement director. The ceremony was held on July 16. (NAHF release) (See also Dayton Daily News report.)