Pararescue Crew Honored with Mackay Trophy

The National Aeronautic Association awarded the 2013 Mackay Trophy to four airmen who comprised Pedro 83 of the 41st Rescue Squadron at Moody AFB, Ga., recognizing the year’s most meritorious flight. Air Force Assistant Vice Chief of Staff Lt. Gen. Stephen Hoog presented the award during a Nov. 12 ceremony in Arlington, Va., to: Capt. Vincent Powell, Capt. Brion Stroud, CMSgt. Norman Callahan, and TSgt. John Ballard. On Jan. 9, 2012, Pedro 83 answered a call from a special operations task force in the mountains near Mazar-e-Sharif to retrieve a wounded Afghan troop. The PJs arrived in two HH-60G Pavehawks. One aircraft hovered, providing close air support and reconnaissance, while the second descended into the riverbed below to pick up the patient. “The men and women of Pedro 83 Flight are just ordinary men and women, but are doing extraordinary things in the service of our nation,” said Hoog, in a Nov. 14 release. “To them, this type of heroic mission is just another day on the job. Their slogan says it all, ‘So Others May Live.’” (See Rescue Crew Takes Mackay Trophy.)